The Coal Industry Society of Wales was first formed in 1965 under the influence of The National Coal Board, South Wales Area. Indeed the first Chairman of the Society was Mr W G Matthias, the then Area Marketing Director. Whilst the Society was formed under the influence of The National Coal Board the membership extended to the owners of private mines, consumers and trade bodies alike.

The 60’s and 70’s saw a major restructuring of the mines in South Wales with the number of men employed falling from over 100,000 to less than 60,000. Such was the turmoil in the industry the Coal Industry Society of Wales ceased its activities in 1976.

In 1987, the Society was resurrected. Driven by the NCB’s South Wales Area Marketing Director, J S Moore and his deputy, Dr C. Rix, and supported by the Station Manager at the CEGB’s Aberthaw Power Station, J Fairclough the Society flourished once more. Technical presentations and social evenings were organised. The Annual Dinner Dance, Annual Luncheon and Skittles evenings became a hallmark of a Society with a broad based membership across all areas of the coal industry in South Wales.

Despite falling membership numbers at the start of the new millennium the Coal Industry Society of Wales has rediscovered itself in the privatised coal industry of today with its functions both technical and social more popular than ever.

Contact us

The Old Customs House
East Lock
Alexandra Dock
NP20 2NP

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


James Poyner


Simon Coghlan


Carl Denley